Bereavement and loss

How can Home-Start help?

Losing loved one is always difficult. Dealing with grief on top of the day-to-day stresses of life can become too much to cope with alone.

There are known to be five stages to the grief process:

Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.

 Home-Start volunteers can provide struggling families with additional support whilst they navigate their grief.  Offering them someone to talk to and help with practical things that they might be finding difficult to face.


Frankies’ story

Home-Start supported Frankie following the loss of her daughters father. 

Frankie is a single mother to 2 little girls Jess and Mary, she moved to Ipswich to a two-bedroom Housing Association flat for a fresh start following the death of her daughters father. 

Read more about Frankies’ story here